Hi I have never used vedctors before so I am just wondering if this is correct or not.
If not, would you mind showing me the correct way to use it?

cout << fixed << setprecision( 2 ); 
	vector < Employee * > employees( 4 );
	employees[ 0 ] = new Manager( 
   "Jack", "Jackson", "123", 800 );
  employees[ 1 ] = new EntryLevelEmployee( 
   "Adrian", "Kiefer", "234", 16.75, 40 );
  employees[ 2 ] = new SalesRep( 
   "Crystal", "Jones", "456", 10000, .06 );
  employees[ 3 ] = new SalesManager( 
   "Robert", "Robertson", "678", 5000, .04, 300 );

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I don't see any "push_back" statements. The whole idea of a vector is that you don't have to specify any array indexes. If you're going to do that, might as well use an array, not a vector.

Hmm ok thanks, I think.
Using an array rather than a vector will require me to change a lot of my code or no?

I believe you might have a problem with line #2.

I just looked over the vector class constructors.. the only constructor with a single parameter takes a "reference to a vector" argument. In your code, you are attempting to pass an integer, which will probably throw a "could not convert int to const vector<T,Allocator>&" type of error during compile.

I would recommend declaring the vector using it's default constructor. Since you will have an empty vector, you'll have to push_back( ) new Employee objects, which you can populate using employee class constructors.

Also... I notice that you have a vector of Employee* pointers..... but then you are attempting to assign new objects of type Manager, EntryLevelEmployee, SalesRep, and SalesManager... Unless there is some sort of type casting that I am not aware of.. an Employee* pointer can only hold an address to an Employee object... therefore, you can only populate a vector<Employee*> with new Employee's.