I'm new to C programming and I am trying to write a simple ID3 tag editor for mp3s. An id3v1 tag is the last 128 bytes of the file, with 30 characters for the artist, 30, for the title, etc...

So far I have written this program which saves each tag to a separate string displays the tags:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
    char title[30];
    char artist[30];
    char album[30];
    char year[4];
    char comment[30];
    FILE *fp;

//OPEN FILE
         fp = fopen("test.mp3", "rb");

//GO TO TITLE BLOCK & READ
         fseek(fp, -125, SEEK_END);
         fread(title, 30, 1, fp);

printf("Title: "); puts(title);

//GO TO ARTIST BLOCK & READ
         fseek(fp, 0, SEEK_CUR);
         fread(artist, 30, 1, fp);

printf("Artist: "); puts(artist);

//GO TO ALBUM BLOCK & READ
         fseek(fp, 0, SEEK_CUR);
         fread(album, 30, 1, fp);

printf("Album: "); puts(album);

//GO TO YEAR BLOCK & READ
         fseek(fp, 0, SEEK_CUR);
         fread(year, 4, 1, fp);

year[4] = '\0' ;
         printf("Year: "); puts(year);

//GO TO COMMENT BLOCK & READ
         fseek(fp, 0, SEEK_CUR);
         fread(comment, 30, 1, fp);

printf("Comment: "); puts(comment);

printf("\n\n\n");
    system("pause");
    return 0;

//END MAIN
}

From what i've read so far I think I can use the one file pointer I have to read from and write to the file if I use the "r+b" argument in my fopen function.

It shouldn't be hard for me to add something to the program that would let the user rename each string, but I don't know how i would go about writing the changed strings back to the file. Any help would be appreciated.

I am also having an issue with the year string. It is 4 bytes long and when i try to print my year string it prints the 4 character long year string, plus the album string next to it (which is why I added the " year[4] = '\0' ; " code. I'm guessing the fread function doesn't add the \0 character to the end of the string?

Here is the mp3 file i'm working with: