Hey everyone,

I have a Matlab code that parses data from a csv file, performs some calculations on the data, and spits it back out into a new csv file. the new csv file contains all the data from the original file, with the new calculations appended on at the end. I need to write a C++ document that performs the same actions.

I'm new to working with C++, but do have limited experience working with it. I can do everything regarding the calculations, but getting the data into C++ then writing back to a new csv file is a point of frustration for me.

Any suggestions about how to go about doing this? Or links to helpful reading material?

TIA

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Post all your code. Maybe I can help.

You can read in files using fstream objects. I posted something about this a couple of days ago here (you have to scroll down a bit to get to the part where the original poster has got their point across). Give that a go and see how you get on. This is probably the best way to go if you're starting out.

Personally, I like using Qt for this, since the QString class has a whole bunch of useful methods for manipulating text, particularly the QString::split() method, which enables you to do things like

QStringList points = fileStream.readLine().split(',', QString::SkipEmptyParts);

This reads a line from the file and splits it into the chunks that are separated by commas (in this case). But, if you're new to C++, maybe you shouldn't dice with Qt just yet :o)

You can read in files using fstream objects. I posted something about this a couple of days ago here (you have to scroll down a bit to get to the part where the original poster has got their point across). Give that a go and see how you get on. This is probably the best way to go if you're starting out.

Personally, I like using Qt for this, since the QString class has a whole bunch of useful methods for manipulating text, particularly the QString::split() method, which enables you to do things like