hi,
i was just wondering if there is some special technique to understand the code which is not yours.i may sound peculiar so letme make it a bit clear.i hav just recently done some c++ programming and being able to make some programs.not too complex but i can do some very basic programming .....
i am able to solve most of the problems myself,but when i look at someone else's code,it takes me a while and lot of effort to understand it.....
i hav heard of the topdown and bottomup approach of designing a program,but can the same approach be used in understanding it?
i am not a professional of programming just an amateur so if i sound too stupid plz forgive me...
thanx in advance..

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

A general description of the goal(s) and comments within the code are probably the single biggest help. For this reason, you should ALWAYS make sure that your own code is well commented.

Believe it or not, code can be considered written communication (like a book or technical manual) as well. Programmers that understand this will write code that is easy to follow. Use of relevant names/identifiers and consistent application of naming conventions can convey a lot of information very easily. Sometimes code that does this well is referred to as "Self-commenting code" and is even more useful than good commenting.

Beyond that, it's just a matter of following the code and tracking down the various typedefs, function definitions, class definitions, etc.