Hi guys,

Your typical C++ beginner here. I'm using the renowned Deitel C++: How to program to learn C++. I am my own mentor and here's what I can't comprehend:

What's a Dangling Reference?

According to Deitel C++: How to Program and I quote "Functions can return references, but this can be dangerous. When returning a reference to a variable declared in the called function*, the variable should be declared STATIC within that function. Otherwise, the reference refers to an automatic variable that is discarded when the function terminates; such a variable is said to be "undefined" and the program's behavior would be unpredictable."

*Called function or the function to whom we return e.g main()?

It would be nice if someone could elaborate on what a Dangling Reference is and provide a code example too. I googled but found nothing helpful or comprehensible.

Thank you for your time.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

double & Getsomenumber()
{
    double number = 12.4;

double &anotherNumber = number;

return anotherNumber;}

As soon as this function ends, the variable number is removed and no longer exists. What does the returned reference actually refer to? Something that no longer exists.

double & Getsomenumber()
{
    double number = 12.4;

double &anotherNumber = number;

return anotherNumber;}

As soon as this function ends, the variable number is removed and no longer exists. What does the returned reference actually refer to? Something that no longer exists.

So I must declare the variable "number" as static if I want to assign it's value to a variable in .main(). OK alright understood.

One more thing you inserted an ampersand before the function name. Is that because you're return a reference / pointer? just making sure i have not come across this in my book yet.

Thank you again.

Sure, you could make it static. Alternatively, you could just return the value like I expect you're used to:

double Getsomenumber()
{
    double number = 12.4;