Hi guys, I just want to ask some help

I added a Download Button in every row of my Gridview. Its function is to download the Binary File of the corresponding row.

Whenever i run it it gives me the error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

Pls help me im just a beginner @_@

Heres my code behind:

protected void GridView1_RowCommand(object sender, System.Web.UI.WebControls.GridViewCommandEventArgs e)
    {
        if (e.CommandName == "Download")
        {

String[] fileInfo = e.CommandArgument.ToString().Split(new char[] { ',' });

int DocID = Int32.Parse(fileInfo[0]);
            String FileName = fileInfo[0];

SqlConnection conn = new SqlConnection("My connection String");

SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand("SELECT BinaryData from BinaryTable WHERE DocID = @DocID");

cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@DocID", DocID);
            cmd.Connection = conn;
            conn.Open();

byte[] BinaryData = (Byte[])cmd.ExecuteScalar();

Response.ContentType = "application/octet-stream";
            Response.AddHeader("Content-Disposition", "attachment;filename=" +   FileName + ".zip");
            Response.BinaryWrite(BinaryData);

}

}
}

Any help would be highly appreciated. Thanks!
by the way, im using visual studio 2005 and sql server 2005

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I suspect the error is coming from either of e.CommandName line or from e.CommandArgument.ToString() line.

Just let me know one thing, did you set the CommandName and CommandArgument property of your Download command button in gridview.

Also why are you using Split( ) function ?

Hi guys, I just want to ask some help

I added a Download Button in every row of my Gridview. Its function is to download the Binary File of the corresponding row.

Whenever i run it it gives me the error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

Pls help me im just a beginner @_@

Heres my code behind: