Hey everyone. I'm brand new to C++ and programming in general and this is my first post here. I've found lots of good info here and these forums helped me a lot last semester. I've got a problem here though. This is a small bit of code I had to turn in yesterday, but for the life of me I couldn't understand why VC++ kept giving me compile errors but g++ compiled it just fine. Here it is:

/*CSIS 297
 * Chapter 10 Challenge 5: Pie a la Mode
 */

#include <iostream>
#include <algorithm>
using namespace std;

/***********************************************
 * 			  Function Prototype			   *
 ***********************************************/
int pieSort(int*, const &int);

/***********************************************
 * 				     MAIN					   *
 ***********************************************/
int main()
{
	int mode;
	const int SIZE = 31;
	int *piesPtr = new int[SIZE];

cout << "This program will accept the number of pies eaten by\n"
		 << "30 individuals, calculate and display the mode.\n" << endl;

for (int count = 1; count < SIZE; count++) {
		cout << "Person #" << count << ": ";
		cin >> *(piesPtr + count);
	}

mode = pieSort(piesPtr, SIZE);

delete [] piesPtr;
	 piesPtr = 0;

cout << "Mode = " << mode << endl;

return 0;
}

/**************************************************
 *            pieSort() function:                 *
 * sorts pie slices eaten from lowest to highest  *
 * and returns the mode.                          *
 **************************************************/
int pieSort(int *p, const int &S) {

int m = 0;
	int modeCounter[S];  // This is where the compiler in VC++ complains
	modeCounter[1] = 0;  // It wants a const value for S.

sort( (p + 1), (p + S) );

for (int count = 1; count < S; count ++) {
		cout << *(p + count ) << endl;
	}

for (int index = 1; index < 31; index++) {
		for (int count = index; count < 31; count++) {
			if ( *(p + count) == *(p + count +1) ) {
				modeCounter[count] += 1;
			}
			if (modeCounter[count] > m) {