This is a fairly easy homework, but I am new to c++ and would like some help. (to my teacher, if you happen to read this, I'm not trying to cheat, but get help to better understand the concepts in this assignment.)

An overview:
"Read an unordered collection of calendar entries (each containing a month, day, year, and a string describing the activity).
Store all the entries until the end of input has been reached.
Print all the entries sorted by date.

For example, given the following input (this is the required input format, see below):
8/26/2008 Classes start
7/14/2008 Register for classes
9/1/2008 No school -- Labor Day
8/27/2008 First 211 lecture
8/27/2008 Purchase textbooks

Would be printed ordered by date:
7/14/2008 Register for classes
8/26/2008 Classes start
8/27/2008 First 211 lecture
8/27/2008 Purchase textbooks
9/1/2008 No school -- Labor Day

Notice that if two entries are on the same date they are printed in the order in which they appear in the input."

I have made 3 classes, calendar.cpp, event.cpp, and event.h

//calendar.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include "event.h"
using namespace std;

bool done=false;
const int MAX=100;
Event *events[MAX];
int size=0;

int main(){

int month, day, year;
char unused;
string activity;

//& is the reference operator and can be read as "address of"
//* is the dereference operator and can be read as "value pointed by"

while(cin>>month){
	if(size==100){
		cerr<<"Too many events specified.\nThe system can only handle 100 events.\nGiving up...\n";
		goto end;
	}
	cin>>unused;
	cin>>day;
	cin>>unused;
	cin>>year;
	getline(cin, activity);

events[size]=new Event(month,day,year,activity);
	for(int i=size;size>0;i--)

/*
		if(*events[i-1].compare(month,day,year))
			*Event temp=*events[i-1];
			events[i-1]=*events[i];
			events[i]=temp;
		else
			break;
	}*/

cout<<events[size]<<endl;
	size++;
}

//cout<<*events[size]<<endl;

end:
return 0;
}
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

#include "event.h"