hey.. Ive done a bit of java and im new at C... so forgive the inexperience/noobage here.. I got 2 problems, I want my program to read in 2 fractions and print the product.. and whenever I press enter without entering any value, ie. a null input, I want it to go back to the main menu.. I have left out the main menu code.. here's the rest of the relevant bits:

/****************************************************************************
* Function nullCheck() checks if a null is entered to return to menu
****************************************************************************/
void nullCheck(char cNum1[])
{
     if(&cNum1[1] == NULL)
     {    main();
     }
}

/****************************************************************************
* Function fractions() calculates the sum of 2 fractions 
****************************************************************************/
void fractions()
{    
     int i, nProd, dProd, iNum1, iNum2, iDen1, iDen2;
     char cNum1[4];
     char cNum2[4];
     char cDen1[4];
     char cDen2[4]; 

printf("Enter fraction 1: ");
     scanf("%s/%s", cNum1, cDen1);
     //nullCheck(cNum1);

printf("Enter fraction 2: "); 
     scanf("%s/%s", cNum2, cDen2);
     //nullCheck(cNum2);
     //printf("%d", iNum1);

//(THE PRINTF STATEMENTS ARE FOR DEBUGGING PURPOSES)
     iNum1 = atoi(cNum1);         //works
           printf("%d", iNum1); 
     iNum2 = atoi(cNum2);         //works
           printf("%d", iNum2);
     iDen1 = atoi(cDen1);         //doesn't work
           printf("%d", iDen1);
     iDen2 = atoi(cDen2);         //doesn't work
           printf("%d", iDen2);

problem 1: It prints out the numerators correctly, but not the denominators.
problem 2: I can't seem to get the "enter a null and go back to the main menu" function to work.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Try outputting the values you input, to see if they are correct.