I need to know how to copy some folders not all from a source tmp/folder. I'm new to python and I want to better understand python. I can't use copytree because I don't wish to copy all folders. I want to be able to pick the folders I want to copy from a folder.txt file. please help. thanks.

So basically what I'm trying to do is

1- Copy from a tmp/directory some not all folders, listed in a .txt file
2- Before copying to the destination location, the destination location will be empty
3- Once I copy the folders, the destination location should only have the folders as specified in the .txt file
4- The copying of the folders should be recursebly
5- Linux environment.

I can easily do this w/ shell scripting but I want to move away for shell scripting. please help.

thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

Here are some function you can look at :
- os.listdir(mydir) will list all the files from "mydir"
- fnmatch.filter(files_list, "*.txt") will give you a list of all text files in the files_list (tip : fnmatch.filter(os.listdir(mydir))
- os.path.join(mydir, file) will give you the absolute name of the file
- os.walk(mydir) will list mydir and all its subdirs, giving you a tuple (root, dirs, files) where root is the current dir, dirs, the subdirs and files the files of the current dir. Tip : if you remove dir from dirs, it won't be visited.

Here are some function you can look at :
- os.listdir(mydir) will list all the files from "mydir"
- fnmatch.filter(files_list, "*.txt") will give you a list of all text files in the files_list (tip : fnmatch.filter(os.listdir(mydir))
- os.path.join(mydir, file) will give you the absolute name of the file
- os.walk(mydir) will list mydir and all its subdirs, giving you a tuple (root, dirs, files) where root is the current dir, dirs, the subdirs and files the files of the current dir. Tip : if you remove dir from dirs, it won't be visited.