OK, so I'm making this advanced web browser for myself that can do favorites. I'm using a combo box as an alternate text box, thinking this should do. But then, I ask myself, what code so I can open a new form, type a title, and put the url, so I can just click that specific thing when you click the arrow to go open the drop down list....

I'm not sure I'm clear so...

I was thinking on having them edit the cfg (configuration) files... but, I'm not sure that'll work, and I have no idea how to do that, or make the cfg file.

Here's an example of Home Page:

I want to set up my default page as something like...let's say Google. So what code and components do I use? Sorry, I'm like a total NOOB in VB....

Here's an example of the Favorites Problem:

I have my home page set up as Google. Now I want Facebook too. But I still want Google, so I go to my favorites and...What? I don't have a favorites! What do I do to make a favorites tab or whatever? Please give me the proper components and code (components are ex: buttons, textboxes, etc.)

Help is Greatly Appreciated!!

VBRuleZ

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

To create a history in a ComboBox, when navigating to a web site, add the url address to the ComboBox.
To save and load those items, check out this thread and replace the ListBox1 with your ComboBox.
http://www.daniweb.com/software-development/vbnet/threads/359030/1531427#post1531427

For the HomePage, I would use a TextBox with a CheckBox. If the CheckBox is .Checked, then load the url address from your TextBox as your HomePage, otherwise, navigate to a blank page or the default HomePage preset by your app..

For Favorites, if your app. has a Favorites menu, add the Favorites to the selected menu option and save/load those.
If it does not have a menu, I would use a ListView to save the Favorites to, since you can add the web page's title as the item.Text and use the web page's url as the item.Tag to load the web page from.

commented: nice +1