Hey C# people,

Sorry for my topic title, I honestly didn't know what else to call it. I'm a Java developer and I'm looking into learning C#. I've read up a bit on it but I'm rather
confuzed (as expected)...

1) Firstly, in java you can choose to use an IDE or you could just code java programs in something like notepad. With C#, do you HAVE to use Visual Studio? You can't simply code a C# program in notepad?

2) Secondly, if using Visual Studio, is it a common thing to create you GUIs through the form creator? In Java using form creators that generate the code for you is bad practice. Is this the only option you have in C# or could you code your GUI by hand?

I'll think of more questions as the topic goes along. But this is it for now...

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

What is actually your issue? Or you are seeing to compare the C#.net with Java?

I'm not comparing the two, I'm asking someone to ellaborate on the process of developing programs with C#. If you can't answer, don't bother replying to this, you're wasting my time.

1) Firstly, in java you can choose to use an IDE or you could just code java programs in something like notepad. With C#, do you HAVE to use Visual Studio? You can't simply code a C# program in notepad?

Answer: Nope. You can use notepad/ordinary text editor to program AS WELL as Visual Studio (Which by the way, is not the ONLY IDE for C# developers, there's plenty more. Visual Studio is just the *main* one as the big people themselves made it - Microsoft).

2) Secondly, if using Visual Studio, is it a common thing to create you GUIs through the form creator? In Java using form creators that generate the code for you is bad practice. Is this the only option you have in C# or could you code your GUI by hand?