I wrote a program which finds the next palindrome. First, it takes an input specifying the number of test cases. The code runs fine in Visual C++, but am not able to run it in GCC.

I have never used GCC before so unaware with its functioning. But am expecting a standard code should run in all the standard compilers. I'm submitting the solution on a website. What option should I select, C++(gcc-4.0.0-8) or C++(gcc-4.3.2)?

#include<iostream>
using namespace std;
int palnext(char *);
int main()
{
	 char input[100000];
	 int n;
	 cin>>n;
	 while(n!=0)
	 {
		 cin>>input;
		 palnext(input);
		 n--;
		 cout<<input<<"\n";
	 }
	 cin.get();
	 cin.get();
	 return 0;
}
int palnext(char* a)
{
	int half,temp,j=0,i=0;
	while(a[i]!='\0')
		i++;
	half=i/2;
	int flag=1,flag2=1;
	temp=i-1;
	while(j<half)
	{
		flag=1;
		while(a[j]>a[temp])
		{	
			flag2=0;
			a[temp]++;
		}
		while(a[j]<a[temp])
		{
			if(flag)
			{
				a[temp-1]++;
				flag=0;
			}
			flag2=0;
			a[temp]--;
		}
		j++;
		temp--;
	}
	if(flag2)
	{
		if(i%2==0)
		{
			a[half]++;
			a[half+1]++;
		}
		else
			a[half]++;
	}
	return 0;
}

Is it C99strict? Also, any suggestions regarding code optimization is also welcome.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Please describe 'not able to run it'.
I compiled your code and ran it with the following input

and got in return

As I would expect.

Thanks L7Sqr, its working fine using GCC too.

But as I mentioned, when I'm trying to submit it on a site, its giving a runtime error.
The solution is checked automatically based on the language selected, I tried C++(gcc-4.0.0-8), C++(gcc-4.3.2) and even C99strict.

It's hard to determine what 'runtime error' means with respect to an online judging application. Perhaps there are some rules you are not following? Is there a time constraint you have not satisfied?
In general, these competitions tend to be strict to the letter of the description. I'd suggest you run with some sample input (if there is any) to see what might be the problem.