hi,
im still a novice in c# programming
im developing a windows form in visual studio 2010(krypton toolkit) in c# .net platform.
i have a datagrid view in my form named stage2grid which contains a column called layout id. when i make changes to this layout id column which is a string, i should be able to check if the particular changed value is already present in the database.
if yes then he should change the value else i should be able to continue with my work.
can u please help me put with the code.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Bellow is the simple code to check a particular value in datagridview... Were you asking for this type of solution?

if (dataGridView1.Rows[row_index].Cells[column_index].Value.ToString() == "value_compars")
{
                MessageBox.Show("Do Next Work");
//Rest of the code
}

can i check whether the value exists as soon as he changes the value in the datagrid i.e not based on an event like button click.
what i meant is there is a button in my application called load data. when i click this button the data is taken from the database and put into the datagrid.
now when i try makin changes to the value, can i check it as soon as i edit each row value of a particular column.

ill try out the code given thanks
please let me know if u have the solution for my doubt
thanks a lot

Do you populate dgv with all the "layout id" from the database? I means are the all rows from dataBase, present in the dgv?

And how do you populate dgv? Is it data bound, or not? If it is, you can loop through the dataTable of particular column, and check if the value exists or not. Then dedice what to do if the value is found or not.

i populate the layout id according to a particular pk_value i.e a number from a table called data6_checklistlayouts. i have to compare this layout id's with all layout id's of the table data6_checklistlayouts to check whether it exists

it is databound

string str== "select * from data6_checklistlayouts where pk_value=269";