Basically, I want to make a windows form application to be able to view and/or manipulate a postgres database.

My first question is if using c#/winforms is an okay way to do this? If not, any suggestions? One of my co-workers suggested using drubal to make an interface to do all this but I have never used that before so I really have no idea. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

My second question, is about actually making the application with winforms... well not how to make it, but more on the best way to make it.

What I want to do is have it so that when the application is first started, you are presented with a login screen (2 textboxes, 2 labels, and a button). Upon entering your information the application confirms your credentials and also checks which privileges you should be allowed.

If the user turns out to be an administrator, I want to have them presented with buttons to do anything. If the user is just a normal person, then they will only be able to view data.

The problem I've run into is that I am not really sure on the best way to switch from the login screen, to the new screen... at least in a way that makes sense.

I figure there are a few options but none of them seem really intuitive and are all kinda brute forced.

The first would be that upon clicking the "login" button, that everything currently on the screen is gets it "Visible" variable set to false, and then depending on what type of user the person is, the corresponding buttons/textboxes/labels get Visible set to true. The problems with this are obviously the fact that to actually design this, you would have tons of overlapping controls everywhere and it would just be a giant mess.