I am new to VB.Net but have a strong background in C# so it isn't that hard to learn it. One issue I have noticed is how enums work. In C# a public enum is considered static, for example:

public class foo
{
    public enum bar
    {
        enum1,
        enum2 //etc...
    }
}

If I want to access this enum I would simply do something like:

int x = (int)foo.bar.enum1

And if I were to instantiate an object of foo, that object would not contain the base enum:

foo test = new foo();
int x = (int)test.bar.enum1; //compiler would melt down, the class object doesn't have a bar property (since its static)

In VB.Net this doesn't seem to be the case. I have 15 enums in a project I am working on and they seem to be overcrowding my properties list when they don't need to be there in the first place. What I am trying to find out is if it is possible to hide these. I tried declaring them as 'Shared' (the Vb.Net equivalent of static in C#) but this throws a compiler exception. Marking them as private/protected also does me no good, since some public properties are enum types.

Dim test As foo
test = new foo()
x = test.bar.enum1 //I dont want this to be possible!  It overcrowds the properties list and makes my co-workers get headaches looking through it
x = foo.bar.enum1 //This works, but I want this to be the only way to access the enum

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Update:

I found a way to achieve what I want (though not ideal) by putting the enums outside the class - so to access them you must access them directly from the namespace. If anyone knows how to do this while still keeping them within the class let me know please!!

Member Avatar for Unhnd_Exception

You can attached this above the enums you don't want viewed in your intellisense.

Public Class Foo

<System.ComponentModel.EditorBrowsable(System.ComponentModel.EditorBrowsableState.Never)> _
  Public Enum Foo
    none = 0
  End Enum

End Class