Hi everyone. I've decided to learn C++ and have come to the inescapable step of having to choose my development environment. I have a short list of IDE's I'm considering but, since I'm new to C++ and programming in general, I'm confused as to which I should pick. I've taken an intro course to Python but that's about it. Some information that may help: I'll be coding almost exclusively on Linux so any tips/tricks particular to the OS would be appreciated. I'll eventually use the IDE I decide on to create applications with a GUI and perhaps games. I want to be able to start using the IDE without spending too much time learning the interface. Any other IDE not on the list but could prove to be better than those listed is welcome! Here's the list:

• NetBeans
  • Eclipse
  • Qt Creator
  • KDevelop
  • Code::Blocks

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

Myself, I prefer a good syntax-highlighted editor such as nedit, Makefiles, a good C++ compiler (g++ works for me) and a good debugger (gdb to go with g++). I've used Eclipse and others, but I prefer to know exactly what is going on, so I stay with the basic tools that these IDE's rely upon for their real compile/debug activities. I do use an advanced UML and MDA (Model-Driven Architecture) tool (Sparx Enterprise Architect) for my design and modeling. It will take my models and turn them into code, which I then work on, and use EA's reverse engineering capabilities to turn code changes back into model elements.

I suggest Microsoft Visual Studio or eclipse or netbeans.

I personally like Code::Blocks, it has syntax highlighting and it has a built-in Debugger. It supports plug-ins and, like Eclipse, they make some things much easier (one of my favourites is the Source Code Formatter).

As for GUIs and Games, GUIs are, in my opinion, better off being built with a visual IDE (has a toolbar and you can drag and drop things onto a window). For games, I really don't have the experience to advise on this issue.