Hi ,
I'm new to servlets and I'm trying out the Date function in servlets. Instead of printing todays date it is giving something like "Date@fbb7cb" this . Could you please point of my mistake .... Following is the code snippet

PrintWriter pw = response.getWriter();
			Date today = new Date();

pw.println("<HTML>"+"<BODY>");
			pw.println(today+"</BODY>"+"</HTML>");

Note: ive made all the proper declarations

thanks

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

What you show for the print out looks like what an object returns to the toStrng() method if it is not overridden in the class. IE it uses the default Object toString()

What package is the Date class in?

The issue is that you aren't getting a string value from your Date object; as a result, it is printing the class and hash for today , rather than an useful information. At minimum, you need to use today.toString() , which would give the time and date in UTC format; better would be to use a SimpleDateFormat object to format the date in the manner you need it to appear in.

its in some default package called src ... im actually using the eclipse so there is one default package int src there

sorry ..... in source folder there is default package .... this file is there...

Look at the API doc for the Date class you are using and see if it defines a toString() method (I doubt it) or if there is another method to call that will generate what you want to see printed.

@schoil: i tried .toString() but it didnt work .... i just wanna know the mistake instead of circumventing

thanks

The compiler will create the toString() method call for a class reference automatically. You don't have to call it specifically.

i just wanna know the mistake

What package is the Date class in? Do you have API doc for that class?

Please note that i used the toString method below and i got "Date@162dbb6 " ...... does it have anything to do with browser compatability ... some versiion problem?

Date today = new Date();