So I've finished C in school. Finished a Deitel book about C(The C part at least) though unprescribed. I know there's more, but 'how to' books isn't going to cover it. The school library isn't helping.

I want more indepth info/lessons about C and I don't know where to go/begin or is just studying some published API the next step? Or maybe the whole standard library.

I've read somewhere here that the C library isn't really C itself. That bugged me a lot during classes which in turn bugged the teacher which ultimately made me buy said Deitel book.

So yea, throw me a bone.

Don't get me wrong. I'm no expert even at the things I know now. Curiosity just kept bugging me really.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

I want more indepth info/lessons about C and I don't know where to go/begin

More study never hurts. Reading code and participating on active C forums (as well as having a complete reference) will go a long way over time. But the best way to improve yourself is and has always been to write code. There are things you learn by doing that can't be learned by study.

I've read somewhere here that the C library isn't really C itself.

The whole of the C library can be written in C, and for the most part it usually is. However, nothing stops implementations from using assembly, for example, to speed things up.

That bugged me a lot during classes which in turn bugged the teacher

That's an odd thing for your teacher to be bugged about. Anyone qualified to teach C (and programming) should be able to give a similar explanation to mine without pause.

But does the whole feature set and everything C has to offer end with what 'how to' books give? I always try to think whether what I know can make something big which tells me if I know enough and atm I'm not very confident without really using other APIs.