Hello ! I need your help to calculate the complexity of a program. I need this for my exam and i can't understand how it is calculated. I've tried searching for solutions on google and reading about it but i still can't get it. Maybe if someone can calculate it for me on an example it will be more easy for me to undestand. I must admit i've never done this before, so i would love to take it easy. The problem asks to create a program with the complexity O(n) and i wonder if the program i made is a O(n) complexity.

Here is the code :

#include <iostream.h>

int ver(int a){
while(a%2==0)
a=a/2;
while(a%3==0)
a=a/3;
while(a%5==0)
a=a/5
if(a==1)
return 1;
else
return 0;}

void main(){
int n,i;
i=1;
cin>>n;
cout<<endl;
while(n!=0){
if(ver(i)==1){
cout<<i<<" ";
n--;}
i++;}}

If you can give me some clues about how should i calculate it , i would be very happy cause i have my exam in 1 week and i still can't do this thing. I can solve the problems i need for my exam i just can't calculate their complexity cause no one ever explained this to me and i can't find it on the internet. I would be very glad if you can give me some examples or atleast calculate the complexity of this program for me and explain how you did it. I need it based on n.

Thanks in advance,
Andrew

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

i don't know how to solve your problem...u see...i like fisics...those kind of problems are to hard for me...but maybe if u call SMINTINA RODICA you will be able to understand..she is the best..good luck buddy..

Thanks for trying to help ! Good luck with your physics :) !

The program tries, with the number of times entered, make that "i" becomes a multiple of 2, 3 and 5 at a time. "i" will autoincrement in each cycle of "while". The while loop is repeated "n" times.

the last while...

while(n!=0){
n--;}
...}

is the same as the loop for:

for(n;n>0;n--){
}