Hello Everybody,

please explain me what is pass by reference ,i know what does it mean but i could not find any of its simple example that differentiate between pass by reference and pass by value :(

please help me i have spent almost 4 hours searching for it but didn't find example that i could understand as i am a beginner,
please provide me with the beginner example of pass by reference.

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

Have you Googled this: pass by reference java

Frankly speaking i searched and read more than 20 different website , but many of them just provided the basic difference between Pass by reference and pass by value,
i know that
Pass by Reference means passing the address , and Strings and Array are both pass by reference and pass by value means passing a copy of the value as an argument.

i don't understand that what does that mean because i didn't find any suitable example that i could understand, what does mean by "passing a copy of the value as an argument" and "passing the value itself", i just need simplest example that could make me understand it, the example available on google search are pretty tough for a guy like me that is why i asked it here.

actually i learned the basics of java 8 month ago in university but they only taught as the basics, nothing more than it...! now i am using internet to learn java, i don't know anything about using GUI in java that is why first i am trying to learn the basics.

passing a copy of the value: you won't change the value of the original object in the 'parent' or calling method. let's say method a calls method b, with a copy of the value of object c, which is used in both method a and b. if you alter this value in method b, the value in method a will not change, unless you have

c = performMethodB(c);