I am writing some code to simulate a football tournament by comparing several teams on several parameters. I need to be able to knock out teams, edit some stats mid simulation, and be able to easily access individual teams data, what structure would I be best using? I had thought possibly vectors but I am very new to c++ and could do with some advice.
sorry if something similar has already been answered.

cheers
Dan

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I would make a football team class and then store the class in a vector

class football {
int wins;
int lost;
bool goodteam;
};

The best way to do this is to use classes. This is what C++ is all about, and its main difference from C.

I would make a class to store all the information relevant to a team, with some member functions to manipulate that data. For example:

class Team {
  public:
    std::string name;
    std::vector<Player> players;
    int current_standing;
    //...
};

I would probably suggest you store the data in a std::map which allows you to access the elements by a key-value, for instance, the team's name. For example:

int main() {
  std::map<std::string, Team> teams;

Team& t1 = teams["Patriots"]; //teams can be looked-up and created by name.
  t1.name = "Patriots";
  t1.current_standing = 1;
  //..

return 0;
};

As for choosing a container, the image attached might help.

Thanks for all the help guys, the only thing i'm still not sure about is how to call the various teams, for example in a 4 team tournament, team 1 plays team 2 and team 3 plays team 4, I can get that far, but lets say 2 and 4 win, how do I then select those teams given that the person running the sim will have named the teams whatever they want to?