First, I apologize for posting this since it seems to have been addressed for every situation except mine (or so I can find), and I admit I am a complete novice.

Intro: I have a batch file which gets placed in a directory with target files, loops through the files in the directory, converting them using another program, and moves the output to a dated subdir. Each conversion takes about 30 minutes. The unfinished output file sometimes changes size as it is being converted, but this is quite slow.

Need: Some sort of progress or activity bar to indicate something is happening (for the users who like to close the window thinking its not working).

Current Batch file:
This converts all .mgf files in a directory, places them in a dated sub-dir and after a pause will delete the batch file. This is made for end-users who are a bit click happy.

Set CURRENTDIR=%CD%
Set mm=%date:~4,2%
Set dd=%date:~7,2%
Set yyyy=%date:~10,4%
Mkdir "%yyyy%-%mm%-%dd% MGFs"
for /f "delims=" %%a IN ('dir /b *.wiff') do (
	cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\AB SCIEX\MS Data Converter"
	AB_SCIEX_MS_Converter WIFF "%CURRENTDIR%\%%~na.wiff" -proteinpilot MGF "%CURRENTDIR%\%yyyy%-%mm%-%dd% MGFs\%%~na.mgf"
)
pause
@echo off
start /min cmd /c del /q %~s0
goto :eof

Idea: Put the following somewhere, except I can't get that to work within the for/do structure.

Print var+5 "%" 
Pause 500

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

lose the pause, and print the progress indicator at the bottom of the for loop. If that's too fast, keep a counter and print only on every Nth pass through the loop. You don't get a nice steady progression (assuming that the conversions are not equally lengthy), but you do get something that is at least a little bit useful. If you can figure out how, print <space> outside of the loop, then print <backspace>spinner where spinner is an array of these characters: |/-\

commented: nice +17