I am new to computer programming. Could someone explain me this code...
s=0;
for(i=0;i<5;i++){
s=2*s+i;

}

And how did it have the output 0,1,4,11,26;

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

how did it have the output 0,1,4,11,26;

Did you take out the print statement? The code you posted doesn't output anything.

Have you written a small program and put that code in it and executed it?
To see what the code does add a println statement just after the for statement that prints out the value of s and the value of i.
If you have any questions about what is printed out, post the output here with your questions.

yeah, i actually shorten the code...

public class Hei{
public static void main(String[]args){

int s=0;
for(int i=0;i<5;i++){
s=2*s+i;

}

System.out.println(s);
}
}

I've run the program and the output was 26... Can you please explain why the output is 26.Thank you.

at first i= 0 so the statement s=2*s+i = s it's like 0=2*0+0=0
next it goes to the code i++ which means i which is 0 will be added by 1 so now i becomes i=1
now it will be s=2*s+i = s means 0=2*0+1 =1 right? now the variable s will have a value of one and i again will go through i++ i then was 1 now will be incremented by 1 so it now becomes 2
now s=2*s+i =s means 0=2*1+2 it;'s 2*1=2 plus 2 equals 4 so now s=4 will be displayed that's it

commented: Nice for taking the time to debug the code +13

Try this:

public class Hei {
	public static void main(String[] args) {

int s = 0;
		for (int i = 0; i < 5; i++) {
			System.out.println("i = " + i);
			System.out.println("  s = " + s + " before the assignment statement");
			s = 2 * s + i;
			System.out.println("  s is now " + s + " after the assignment statement");
		}

System.out.println();
		System.out.println("Final value for s = " + s);
	}
}

Better yet, take the original program and work it out step-by-step by hand, using a pencil and paper. You need to keep track of the current values of "i" and "s" at each step of the process.