hi ... can someone help me on connecting MSsql 2000 to vb6 ...i've been searching google but they always point me to this site .. http://www.connectionstrings.com/
i dunno how to set up this strings in vb since im new to vb... :( please help

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

http://www.connectionstrings.com/sql-server#p6

Probably the SQL OLEDB string is probably what you're looking for.

Get your SQL Server up and running first. Add a reference to the Microsoft ActiveX Recordset 2.x library in your project.

Instantiate your ActiveX Database Objects (ADODB) as follows:

Private rst as ADODB.Recordset
Private cn as ADODB.Connection

Private Sub Form_Load()
set rst = new ADODB.Recordset
set cn = new ADODB.Connection

cn.ConnectionString = ' Your Connection string

rst.open ' your recordset 
End Sub

You need to use ADO library in VB 6.

Read more here and here.

uh..ic thankzz ...but i had a problem..

why i get this error:

[DBNETLIB]ConnectionOpen(Connect()).]SQL Server does not exist or access denied.

btw this is my code:

Option Explicit
Dim MyConnObj As New ADODB.Connection
Dim myRecSet As New ADODB.Recordset

Private Sub Form_Load()

MyConnObj.Open _
"Provider = sqloledb;" & _
"Data Source=MULTIFAC-4659A9;" & _
"Initial Catalog=John1;" & _
"User ID=sa;" & _
"Password=p@ssW0rd;"

End Sub

uhh btw .. does sql had a default username and password? ..coz i think i didnt have a username and password

Try messing around with the Data Environment View.

From the View Menu choose Data View Window

Click on the second icon to add a Data Environment. You should then see a
Connection1 in Data Environment View frame.

Right Click on the Connection1 icon and choose the Properties Menu. At this point you should be able to figure out what settings to use if your SQL server is properly set up. If you still have problems, you need to read through the SQL documentation on how to setup your connection on your machine.