Hello there!
First off, I'm just in school, 10th grade (second year of computer science), so I am not very advanced.
I was wondering...How can I write a simple program that does combinations, in a certain way?
Let's say I have 5 buttons. I want all combinations of pressed and unpressed buttons. X can be a pressed one, and 0 an non-presssed one. I want to make those combinations:
X0000
XX000
X0X00
X00X0
X000X
XXX00
XX0X0
XX00X
X0XX0
X0X0X
and so forth, making all the possible combinations with 1 X, then with 2 X'es, then with 3 and so forth.I can make 5 different programs for this (if the maximum is 5 Xes), using lots of "for", but I don't know how to make it all in one program, because no teacher will teach us stuff like this, because it isn't very usefull for the contests in my country.

With a bit of independent studiing, I think it should be backtracking or recursivity? I don't really know, I'm still a newbie :)
Sorry for my bad English, and thank you kindly if you read this.

PS: I've searched google before posting this, and I only found simple explanations for programs that can only solve this problem for a certain number of "X",and this I can allready do, and I want one that can do it for any number of "buttons", using from 1 X to maximum X's

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Please show us what you have, then we may try to direct you towards your goal.

I think this is not homework. I tried to think of an algorithm for a while, but I suck at it (plus I am only 14), so I decided to write the hard, computation power, brute-force function to do that. But it too, takes a while. So when I am done, I will share it with you :)

> I think this is not homework.
It doesn't matter.
> plus I am only 14
At 14 it could be fun. At 16 it's a routine.
Besides, OP's problems may stem from any possible direction, and I broke my last crystal ball yesterday.
Доброй ночи.

OP here.