Hey guys,

I am pretty new to c# and have just developed a login client/server application.

I am coming from PHP programming environment and my question is now. Is there any similar function in c# as the SESSION variables in php?

Say i am logged out in my c# application then the login stuff shows. When i then login and gets an ok from the server how do you then set the application to show different stuff like friends logout etc.

I guess it sounds pretty confusing but i hope you understand my question :)

Best regards

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You are using Windows Forms or ASP.NET?

In asp.net there is the Session object. That you can use like this:

Session["myVar"] = 10;
int myVar = (int)Session["myVar"];

If you are using windows forms and don't know if there is anything like that. But you could use static variables to do it.

You are using Windows Forms or ASP.NET?

In asp.net there is the Session object. That you can use like this:

Session["myVar"] = 10;
int myVar = (int)Session["myVar"];

If you are using windows forms and don't know if there is anything like that. But you could use static variables to do it.

Thanks for your answer.

I am using Windows Forms and not asp.net.

Is there a security risk with using variables to set what data should be shown? This client will be used by hundreds or maybe even thousand of people so it is pretty important that not just any kid can manipulate the code on the client to get other users data etc.

Best regards

There's no risk in this case. When you publish your project it'll be compiled and the source code won't be visible to the end user.

What someone could do is try to crack your application, but even then, they would not see your code but just the assembly generated by it.