I know this is like an idiot question, but i'm like totatlly stumped by it for some reason. First and foremost, i'm a total newbie at coding(1st month and would be grateful if someone could at least help me with the first part of the project to help me get started:

Objective:
(1st part) A function called (read set) to read in the elements of a set from the user and return the set (stored as a Python list). The function does not have any parameters. The function should ask the user to enter the elements of the set separated by spaces. After the user types in the elements of the set, create a list containing the elements of the set. Hint: Use split(). Your function must remove any repeating items from the set (the user may accidentally enter the same element twice). Make sure the function returns the list via a return statement. Here is a sample run of the function read set:

Enter the elements of the set (separated by spaces): 34354
A set with 3 elements has been read (repeating items were removed)

After everything is completed, it's to look something like:
Enter two basic sets and i will print the result of some basic set operations on those sets.

Enter the elements of the set(separated be spaces):

A set with 3 elements has been read (repeating items were removed).

Enter the elements of the set (separated by spaces):

A set with 4 elements has been read.

The two sets you entered are as follows: {3, 4, 5} {1, 4, 2, 5}

Union: {3, 4, 5, 1, 2}
Intersection: {4, 5}
Difference: {3}
Exclusive Or: {3, 1, 2}
Cartesian Product: {(3,1), (3,4), (3,2), (3,5), (4,1), (4,4), (4,2), (4,5), (5,1),
(5,4), (5,2), (5,5)}
Do that again? [y/n] n
Goodbye!

Recommended Answers

All 32 Replies