I'm new at this so sorry if my vocabulary and stuff is totally off.
With the following syntax, my goal is to call the choose_number function, which, when given two arguments (integers), returns one of those two at random. I run it multiple times with a for loop but it doesn't seem to randomize. Maybe it randomizes the first time, but the other times the loop runs, the value remains the same. Maybe eliminate_door is only being defined once and then that same value is printed over and over again? If you could help me out that would be great.

#include <iostream>
#include <ctime>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int choose_number(int option_a, int option_b)
	{
		srand(time(0));

int random = rand() % 2;

if (random == 0)
		{
			return option_a;
		}
		else
		{
			return option_b;
		}
	}

int main()
{
	srand(time(0));

int door1 = 1;
	int door2 = 2;
	int door3 = 3;

for (int i = 1; i <= 300; i++)
	{
		int eliminate_door = choose_number(door2, door3);
		cout << eliminate_door << endl;
	}

system ("pause");
	return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Remove the call to srand from the choose_number function.

As a general rule, you should call srand only once in your entire program.

Ahh awesome man thanks. I didn't know that that could be a problem. Works perfect now thanks.

Hi there, well done for getting your function to work as you wanted :o) Now that it's working you could do a little tidying, since choose_number is a little more verbose than it could be. In fact, the whole thing only needs one line:

int choose_number( int option_a, int option_b )
{
   return (rand() % 2 == 0) ? option_a : option_b;
}

The ternary operator ?: is very useful for this kind of situation and once you get used to it, I find that it makes code more readable :o)

If you want to go further, you could use a function template here, so that you can get a choose_number for double , or std::string or indeed any class that you might want to create yourself:

template< typename T >