I am supposed to read a text file containing "lyrics", then format it out based on special symbols like +,-,[] and spaces.
Here's the lyrics syntax:

Spaces are significant: A single space between two words makes the two words go in two successive beats. Each additional space causes the lyric skip to skip an extra beat.

input = "  Mary  had a little lamb.";
output = "", "", "Mary", "", "had", "a", "little", "lamb."

-: force a single word to be split into multiple beats

input = "a b- c d";
output = "a", "b-", "", "c", "d"

I can't figure out how to come up with a solution for the spaces and minus signs so what have i done so far is to remove strings enclosed in braces, break down the string into tokens then assign the first plus sign as spaces, can somebody out there help me come up with a n algorithm for the spaces and minus signs? Please don't be mean, I'm just a newbie :-/

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Without knowing the format, all I can suggest is breaking the string down into tokens where each token represents a word, a space, or a special character. Once you have a list of those tokens, you can parse them more easily according to the format's rules:

#include <ctype.h>
#include <stdbool.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>

#define MAX_TOKEN_LENGTH 50
#define MAX_TOKENS       1024

typedef enum token_type {
    WORD,
    SPLIT_BEAT,
    LONG_BEAT
} token_type;

typedef struct token {
    token_type  type;
    char       *value;
} token;

char *copy_string(const char *s)
{
    char *copy = malloc(strlen(s) + 1);

if (copy != NULL)
        strcpy(copy, s);

return copy;
}

bool is_word(char ch)
{
    return !isspace(ch) && ch != '-';
}

int main(void)
{
    const char *src = "a b- c d";

token token_list[MAX_TOKENS];
    size_t n = 0;

for (size_t i = 0; src[i] != '\0'; i++) {
        if (isspace(src[i]))
            token_list[n].type = SPLIT_BEAT;
        else if (src[i] == '-')
            token_list[n].type = LONG_BEAT;