Hi all, I'm fairly new to python and I'm stuck with a problem. What I'm trying to do is write a recursive function that takes a list of integers and returns true if the list contains a single pair of integers whose sum is negative, and false otherwise. For example:

[13, 9, 15, -10, 11] would return True, because 9 + -10 is a negative number

[12, 8, 9, 17, -3] would return False, because no single pair of integers added up would result in a negative number.

What I have so far:

def neg_sum(L):
    if len(L) == 2:
        if L[0] + L[1] < 0:
            return True
        else:
            return False
    else:

I'm not quite sure what to write after this, I know that if the list has a length of 2, then all you need to do is add the two elements, and you see if the sum is negative or positive. However, if the list is larger than 2, I have to make a recursive call, which is where I'm getting confused. Anyone have some tips?

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Recursion = a function that calls itself and is along the lines of

def recursion_funct(list_in):
    print "list is now", list_in
    if len(list_in) > 1:
        recursion_funct(list_in[1:])
    else:
        return    ## out of entries in the list

test_list=[13, 9, 15, -10, 11]
recursion_funct(test_list)

First figure how to use a function that calls itself (maybe tests the first entry against all negative numbers and then return a list from each successive call, but then what do you do if there is a positive number after a negative number). You'll have to figure that out before you can start coding.

Your base case is the case with less than two elements in sequence and you should return True if sum of two first ones < 0 or otherwise the result of calling function recursively with smaller of first two in sequence and the other elements.

Thanks for the replies. I've made some progress on writing this code, however, I'm still having some problems...

def neg_sum(L):
    print (L)
    if len(L) == 2: