I'm trying to sort an array of numbers in ascending order and don't know whats wrong with my code (I'm completely new to vectors). I should first copy the input array (data) into an STL vector, then apply STL’s sorting algorithm to the vector, and finally copy the vector back into the array.

void STLSort(int data[],int size)
{
    vector<int> a1;
    a1.reserve(size);
    for(int i=0;i<size;i++)
        a1[i]=data[i];
    sort(a1.begin(),a1.end());
    for(int i=0;i<size;i++)
        data[i]=a1[i];
}

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

The problem is that end() isn't what you think it is; I think it's a sentinel node, but in any event, it's not a valid data element. You can replace it with:

sort(a1.begin(), a1.begin() + size - 1);

I'm looking into a better way to do it, without needing to be given the size of the array.

Well, I'm out of ideas. I've created two sorts that look identical to me. One works, the other hangs. Someone smarter than I am is going to have to explain this one.

#include <vector>
#include <algorithm>

using namespace std;

void STLSort(int data[],int size)
{
	vector<int> a1;
	vector<int>::iterator last;
	a1.reserve(size);
	for(int i = 0; i < size; i++)
		a1[i] = data [i];

last = a1.begin() + a1.size() - 1;

sort(a1.begin(), a1.begin() + size - 1);	// works
	sort(a1.begin(), last);	// hangs

data[i] = a1[i];
}

int main ()
{
	int myArray[10] = { 9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1,0 };
	int size = 10;

STLSort(myArray, size);

return 0;
}
a1.reserve(size);
a1[i] = data [i];

reserve do not same as resize, reserve only change the capacity
but not the size of the vector

besides, you don't need to calculate the position of "past the end"
just write this

std::sort(A.begin(), A.end() );

stereomatching -

Thanks for the correction. Interesting about the sort accepting a1.end; from this page:

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/stl/vector/end/