Hello, newbie here to both this forum and Python, so expect silliness!

My first project has been to build a GUI front end for some command line utilities I use regularly. One of them is the utility: eac3to which joins mp3 files together. It's command line is: "eac3to.exe infile1+infile2+infile3 outfile"

Using loops I can successfully scan a directory and make a list of the mp3 files in it. From it generate exactly the command line I need and it works beautifully. Unless one of the mp3 files has an apostrophe in the file name, in which case Python changes it to ", this , of course, makes it impossible for the OS to find the file.

Obviously the quick fix is to rename my files, but I don't like to be beaten!
Please give me a clue. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

You should give one failed attempt with output and how you would like to change it.

It is too unclear otherwise, as there is no reason to have difficulty. If using strings is clumsy, just remember that there is many choises, some should fit your use case:
"string" delimited single line with \n etc escape characters, which means some filenames are not OK, if you are in Windows environment and do not double the \
r"string\with\backslashes and other stuff" delimited single line without the escape sequences, so you can enter Windows file name without quoting the backslashes.
And then there are the multiline """string""" and '''string'''' which can include single quoted strings or opposite style triple quotes.

It would help if we could see the file names. Can you run the following session with your python interpreter and post the output (with

[/b] tags):
[code=python]
>>> import os
>>> p = u"C:/path/to/folder/containing/input/files" # <-- don't forget the leading u
>>> L = os.listdir(p)
>>> print(L)
>>> print([s.encode('utf8') for s in L])

You should give one failed attempt with output and how you would like to change it.

Thanks. OK here goes this is my code:

def joinmp3(self, event):