Hi,

I'm pretty new to python, just started 2 weeks ago xD, and new to forum too, I tried to search to see if there were any other question that was similar to this but couldn't find one. Therefore, I apologize if there's already another thread with the similar problem.

Anyway, my problem is basically I got the script to kind of work. It will ask me to input a starting number and ending number, but I just can't seem to eliminate the task or rather append to the starting or ending number if the guessed number should go higher or lower.

def guessing():
    import random
    tries = 1
    start = int(input("Input starting number"))
    end = int(input("Input ending number"))
    init_guess = random.randint(start, end)
    print(init_guess)
    answ = input("Is this the right number?")
    while answ != "yes":
        right = input("Is it higher or lower?")
        if right == 'higher':
            guess = random.randint(init_guess, end)
            print(guess)
            guess = init_guess
            tries += 1
        elif right == 'lower':
            guess = random.randint(start, init_guess)
            print(guess)
            guess = end_guess
            tries += 1
        else:
            print("Invalid input, please only use higher or lower as answer")
    print("I got it right, thank you for playing")
    return guessing

The thing is I don't think I should be using random.randint, does anyone have any suggestion? I tried to create a variable to append to the guessed number but I keep failing. It kind of work but the result would be if I put higher it would indeed go higher yet if I put lower it would go to a number that was lowered than the already guessed number. X_X Please help and point out if I made any unnecessary line of code, thank you. btw this problem was a challenge by a book I was reading but they didn't put any answer to it.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

tested on python 2.7.2

import random

def guessing():