Hello,

I'm fairly new to C++, and i would like to know how to make a program that uses IO stream? like, i want it to have settings feature where the user would enter thier info on a form, and it saves as a .txt or another format file, and it loads everytime the program starts. I tried this before on my old laptop, it returned with some error.

How do i tell the program to get this information from X line? should i use EOF function? and someone can please remind me how to do that, that would be awesome.

Thanks for the trouble and helping.

Regards,
Mike.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Check out this site.

When you say form, do you mean Windows Form?

Yes sir. I forgot to mention that im using Microsoft Visual C++ Express 2010. I was using Dev C++, but i wanted to try something new? Thanks

all EOF does is checks to see whether or not the end of the file was reached. Usually this is used when doing a loop in a which you read input from the file.

By what you described, it sounds like the user should be prompted with a menu to either change their information or to continue to the program. In that case, choice 1 the program would send the use to a void function where the program runs the input info to a text file.

Here is an example:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

int main () {
  ofstream myfile;
  myfile.open ("example.txt");
  myfile << "Writing this to a file.\n";
  myfile.close();
  return 0;
}

Then do the opposite when the user just wants to continue to the program where the program reads the file. In that case you would do an ifstream rather than an ofstream. Again, for the program to remember what each line means, i would use an array and make sure the program understands which index from the file means what. I'm not going to go about tell you how to do this exactly but if you read a little bit on the link that Labdabeta posted you should be able to learn what to do quickly.