Hi everyone,

this is my first post and I am new to C++. I am trying to figure out how to do this project. Newton’s method is an algorithm that can be used to solve an equation of the form f(x) = 0 using a sequence of approximations. Here’s how it works: You make a reasonable guess for a solution, x0.
You should create a function which calculates the value of the polynomial at a specific x value (the inputs for the function should be the array representing the polynomial, its size, and the x-value to evaluate at), and a function which calculates the value of the derivative at a specific x value (same inputs as the previous function).
I have been trying to figure this out for 4 hours already but can't go past cout statements. Please help! this is urgent!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This question would have been more appropriate in the "Software Development"->"Computer Science" section of these forums.

What, exactly, don't you get? The algorithm itself? The C++ coding part of the problem? . . .

Why don't you post what you have done so far, and we'll try to help you from there.

#include<iostream>
#include<cmath>
using namespace std;

double Newtonf(double[], int);
double Newtonf(double polynomial[], int order)
    {
        double b;
        double constant;
        double total;
        double x;
    for(int b=1; b<=order; b++)
        {
            total+=polynomial[b]*pow(x, b)+ constant;
            return total;
        }

}

double Newtonfd(double[], int);
double Newtonfd(double polynomial[], int order)
    {
        double b;
        int c;
        double total;
        double x;
    for(int b=1; b<=order; b++)
        {
            total+=polynomial[b]*c*pow(x,c-1);
            return total;
        }
    }

int main()
{

double guess;
    int n;
    cout << "What is the degree of the polynomial equation of the form f(x)=0? ";
    cin >> n;
    int i=1;
    double polynomial[n];

while(i<=n)
    {