Hi,

I am trying to do a calculator for celcius to farenheit and viceversa. However I cannot understand why my program does not work. After reading the scanner it does anything and I really do not know why. Could anybody give me a hand here is what i have gotten (please be nice I am new to Java :D).

import java.util.*;
public class Main {

/**
     * @param args
     */
    public static void main(String[] args) {
    Scanner keyboard = new Scanner(System.in);
    System.out.println("Choose F for farneheit to celsius, C for Celsius to farenheit:");

String option = keyboard.next();

if (option == "F" || option == "f") 
    {   

System.out.println("Enter a farenheit Degree:");
        int number = keyboard.nextInt();

double farenheit = number;
        double celsius = (5.0/9) * (farenheit - 32);
        System.out.println(number + "In Farenheit degrees is" + celsius + "in celsius degree");

}
    else if (option == "C" || option == "c")

{
        System.out.println("Enter a celcius Degree:");

double celcius = number;
        double farenheit = (celcius * 1.8) + 32;
        System.out.println(number + "In Celsius degrees is" + farenheit + "in farenheit degree");

}
    else {
        System.out.println("Please select correct parameters");

}

}

}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

if (option == "F" || option == "f")

Here's your problem. == tests for two objects being exactly the same object, but option is something you just read from the scanner, and "F" is a String created at compile time - they are two different objects, so the == test is always false.
To compare Strings you can use the equals method which tests that the strings have the same sequence of letters in them. Even better, for this case, is equalsIgnoreCase method, which does what it says. So...
if (option.equalsIgnoreCase("f")) ...