hey guys !! i am new at c++ so i need a bit of help .. i am trying to solve different problems but i am stuck on this problem ..
write a c++ function , smallestindex that takes as parameters an int array and its size and returns the index of the smallest element in the array .

i dont want the complete source code but i need a bit of guidance how to get started .. i will be thankful ....

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hey,

You need to firstly look into arrays, and, then how to pass (array pointers) into functions, once you've found these things out you can then sort the array (bubble sort e.g.) and find the lowest value. Not allowed to provide a solution to this probem!

I would have to politely disagree with phorce. Bubblesort would change the indexes of the elements which would prevent you from returning the index of the smallest value (a requirement).

I'm making an assumption about the type of solution expected here, given the way your problem is worded.

If you think about it, you will need to step through the array that is passed into the function and test the values so that you can determine which is the smallest, which suggests some form of iteration, or loop.

You'll need to maintain a record of the smallest value found so far so that you can compare it with subsequent values.

You'll also need to maintain a record of the index of that smallest value found so that you can return it from the function at the end (so this record will need to persist beyond the lifetime of the loop).

It may help to write out the steps in natural language before you move to coding up your solution.

If you want to do it with sorting algorithms, you can copy the original array into a new array. Then sort it and store the smallest element. Comparing it with original array would give you its index as required.

There is another way which Bob has pointed out. In a loop check for smallest element. This will not change array index.