Hello,
I'm trying to calculate factorials with my program, but it is only working for the first few numbers. It compiles fine, so I can't find the problem. Help please! Keep it simple, I am very new to C++ and programming in general.
Here is my code:

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;
int factorial(int);
int factorial(int n)
{
        int i=0, fact=1;
        if(n<=1)
        {
                return(1);
        }
        else
        {
            for (i=1; i<=n; i++)
            {
                fact=fact*i;
            } 
        return(fact);
        }
}
int main()
{
    int i, z, q;
    int n=10;
    for (i=0; i<=n; i++)
    {
    q=((2*i)+1);
    z=factorial(q);
    cout<<z <<endl;
    }
system("PAUSE");
return 0;
}    

It works for i=0 to i=6, but after that the values are incorrect.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Let's say i is 6. You're trying to take the factorial of (2 * 6 + 1), or 13. 13! is 6227020800, which overflows even an unsigned 32-bit integer (your range is roughly halved from that by using a signed type). It's not unexpected that you'll start getting funky values very quickly given the rapid growth of factorials.

What's q=((2*i)+1); supposed to be doing?
If you wan tthe factorial of 7, why are you passing 15 to the function? Won't that give you 15! ?

Oh! I changed it to long double, because that's the most memory right? Still not big enough however. I don't know how to approach it other than that. Thank you so much though!

double is usually used for floating point variables (i.e. - they require decimal points).
The results of a factorial calculation are positive integers, so you were fine leaving it as int. To extend the range, you could use unsigned int.

Like "WaltP asked: what is the point of the variable q?

When you say it works from i = 0 to 6, do mean the values are correct? Have you confirmed that?