Hi i am having problems designing a solution for this problem :
I have a form where you can choose the items you wish and type the quantity and then add them to a listview item. The itema are already saved in a database ( i am using sqlite ) but then i have to save this 'order' back into my database so i can retrieve it later for printing or just viewing what was on the 'order'. The problem is i can't figure a way to do so... I already created tables that include my items and their ids as primary keys and a table named orders where i have a primary key for the order number but i can't think of a way to combine my materials with my orders to do what i described earlier...
Please help me i am new in designing this kind of things....

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Okay let's see if I understand your question right. You want to update values in your existing database correct? If so I can help you a little here (I am in the long delayed processes (thank you school) of learning how to use SQLite).

Okay so I was going to post some code I had written (that I haven't tested yet), but I was confusing myself. So instead let's start in this direction.

Remember that SQLite is just a local database, that still works the same as SQL when it comes to commands (or should I say statements). So you should look into the UPDATE statement. This link I feel will explain it better then I can at the moment.

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_update.asp

If your still confused you could look at it like I did. We find the index of an entry by searching for a value in a specific field, and then updating what ever value we desire at that entry based off using the field. (hopefully this makes sense, I was struggling to find the right words)

I also assume you know how to interact with the SQLite file? If not let me know I have some code that I have written that does work