Hi everyone, I am brand new to Java and I like it a lot so far. I am very stuck on an assignment for school that I need help with. We are just learning about method invocation, how to write and call methods in Java. My program should take user generated input for a radius value and output the volume, area, and radius of a sphere in a dialoge box. The Output/Input classes are just classes my professor wrote to allow us a pretty interface (we haven't used sys.out.println yet). I cannot get my method invocation to work. The compilation window tells me the the variables in my method invocation are not yet declared. I am stuck. Help would be so appreciated! thanks

Here is what I've got:

public class Sphere
    {
        public static void sphereOut(double rad, double volume, double a)
        {

String menu = "Your radius is: " +rad+ "\n";
            menu = menu + "Your volume is: " +volume+ "\n";
            menu = menu + "Your area is: " +a; 
            Output.showMessage(menu);

}//method sphereOut

public static double area (double rad)
        {

double a;   
            a = 4.0 * 3.14 * rad * rad;
            return a;

}//method area

public static double volume (double volume)
        {

double volume
        4.0/3.0 * 3.14 * rad * rad * rad;
        return volume;

}//method volume

public static double getRadius ()
        {

double rad; 
            rad = Input.readDouble("Enter a positive radius");
            while (rad < 0)
                rad = Input.readDouble("Error enter a positive value");     
            Output.showValue("The radius you entered is: ", rad);
            return rad;

}//method getRadius     

public static void main(String [] args)
        {

Sphere.getRadius();
            Sphere.volume(volume);
            Sphere.area(rad);
            Sphere.sphereOut(rad, volume, a);

}//method main
    }//class Sphere 

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm not sure what you are talking about, but my guess is that stuff like this