Hi guys

I need some help writing a program where I store information from a textfile into a parallel array. I need to be able to do a multiplication sum with the amount,and an if statement.

Here is the textfile
James 550
Quinton 410
Liam 120
Taylor 600
Jake 270

(These are truckdrivers,and the miles they drove in a month).

I would appreciate it if someone could help me or give me a link which could help with this,I am still new to arrays.

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

DaniWeb Member Rules (which you agreed to when you signed up) include:
"Do provide evidence of having done some work yourself if posting questions from school or work assignments"
http://www.daniweb.com/community/rules

Post what you have done so far and someone will help you from there.

public class drivers

Scanner scan = new Scanner(new File("drivers.txt"));
    while(scan.hasNextLine())
    {
        String line = scan.nextLine();
        String[] token = line.split(" ");  // name is in token[0] distance in token[1]
    }
    scan.close();

I'm stuck here at the moment,I'm getting a few errors and I'm not sure how to continue,the next thing I want to do is put an if-statement in,so that it gives 'n notification when more than 500 miles is driven.

I'm getting a few errors

You need to post the full text of any error messages that you need help with.

not sure how to continue

To see what is in the token array use the Arrays class's toString() method to format the array for output: System.out.println("an ID "+ java.util.Arrays.toString(theArrayName));
Replace "an ID" with a description of what is being printed.

What does the assignment say you need to do with the tokens that are in the array?

I resolved the errors ...
Here is exactly what I have to do :
1.import the data from the textfile and store it in arrays
2.write an if statement to alert the user if a driver has done more than 500 miles
3.Times the miles driven by $10 (drivers are paid $10 per mile).