Any tutorial step by step yo provide modular application development and dynamic deployment for Net Beans by using OSGi with Felix?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm new in this, and my college tutor told us to stich with NetBeans (which has worked nicely so far). We're still pretty much doing noob stuff.

Could you please explain what you ment by "binding yourself to IDE is bad"?

Tutor or teacher telling you to use THE tool sounds like someone that is unlikely to encourage you to take that extra mile that separates panioned developer from 8am-5pm code writer. You should be told that there are other tools, you should be encourage to try and explore them.

In my last year at university I had teacher running Web Services module. All his notes been based on online tutorial for Eclipse 3.0, when our course started there came new Eclipse 3.5 version and his notes suddendly been useless. Many of my classmetes got stuck becuase they waited for teacher to sort that for them (he wasn't able to do it by the end of course) and they didn't bother to search for different setups. I was able to get it running under IntelliJ and also NetBeans.

For the last few months I'm doing Android development. There is huge number of tutorials with majority for Eclipse because that was tool of choice for Google when they started shipping Android. However I'm not big friend with Eclipse and I use IntelliJ. If I insisted on using IntelliJ only tutorials I would never learned anything about Android beside Hello World...

not to mention that if you are only doing "noob stuff", using an IDE is the worst thing to do. you had better start of with notepad and the command prompt, in order to learn what the IDE is doing "behind your back". it's also best to learn to write the code, instead of depending on an IDE's auto-completion function.

I see your point.