Hi programmers, I am a c# programmer but I have a very big project in C++ (Which I am not familiar with) and I am facing a big problem.
As part of the project, I need to convert the image (any image of any type bmp,jpeg,png...etc) to grayscale using openMP.
After doing some research, I got the main method which allows me to do the conversion using openMP, it's as follows:

// pDest is an unsigned char array of size width * height
// pSrc is an unsigned char array of size width * height * 4 (32-bit) 
// To avoid floating point operation, all floating point weights 
// in the original grayscale formula
// has been changed to integer approximation 

// Use pragma for to make a parallel for loop 
omp_set_num_threads(threads); 

#pragma omp parallel for
for(int z = 0; z < height*width; z++) 
{ 
    pDest[z] = (pSrc[z*4+0]*3735 + pSrc[z*4 + 1]*19234+ pSrc[z*4+ 2]*9797)>>15; 
}

But the problem is that I couldn't find any complete code to do that! So I am facing hard times reading the image first before processing it and later save it somewhere on the hard disk.

I would appreciate any help, even if the code is in serial (not parallel) I am sure it will help me a lot.

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

What exactly is it that you don't know how to do? Looks like each pSrc points to the image to change, with each pixel taking 4 bytes (I'd guess RGBA), and you have to read those four numbers and turn them into one new number in the greyscale image.

Looks like you've even decided already how to do that conversion - pDest[z] = (pSrc[z*4+0]*3735 + pSrc[z*4 + 1]*19234+ pSrc[z*4+ 2]*9797)>>15; - so what is it that you don't know how to do?

Moschops.. thanks for the reply.
What I don't know are the basic stuff, like what to include, how to read the image from hard disk and how to save it.
In other words, I have the function above, what are the steps needed to call this function.

Thanks in advance