Hi folks
Im a newbie.
I have a combobox cboTeachersName that is bound to deptTeachers table.
At runtime, it contains teachers of given subject (Course).
I then select a teacher and save in a field in another table called Summaries.

PROBLEM IS
When I load the form and load the saved record, the selected teacher is not the selected item in combobox.
combobox is empty.
I want that when I load the form and the saved record then combo should display saved teacher as the selecteditem
How can I make this happen?

Here is my code to fill combo (called in form load event)

Sub FillComboTeachersName()
        SQLDeptTeacher = "SELECT Teachers.teachersname  FROM DeptTeachers INNER JOIN Teachers ON 

Teachers.TeachersID=DeptTeachers.TeachersID INNER JOIN Depts ON Depts.DeptID=DeptTeachers.DeptID WHERE 

Depts.DeptName='" & Me.txtSubjectName.Text & "' "

CmdDeptTeacher = New SqlCommand(SQLDeptTeacher, Conn)
        DRDeptTeacher = CmdDeptTeacher.ExecuteReader

While (DRDeptTeacher.Read())

With Me.cboTeachersName
                .Items.Add(DRDeptTeacher("teachersname"))
            End With

End While

CmdDeptTeacher.Dispose()
        DRDeptTeacher.Close()
    End Sub

Your help will be appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Can you share the code that you load the saved info? If the combo list has the values it should, then there is nothing wrong with this sub.

You couild also set a breakpoint at line 14 and check whether DRDeptTeacher("teachersname") has any data in it.

This is the code for the form ie ScoresForm.
Teachers of the subject(course) are actually loaded into combo box BUT I want the saved teacher to appear as first i.e to have selected index of 0 or show as selected item in combo box.

Also another slight problem in the SummaryCounts Sub is that if all Sat students have passed, then the txtFailed textbox must show 0. I get but a 1 in this case. I guess my code for doing the counts (from Datagrid dgvScores) is not correct.

Here below is my code: