Hi
I am trying to link a selected item from one listbox to display all the results in another listbox by using a filter method (Or something similar).

Both listboxes are filled with information from a text file.
The first listbox has information such as the different Genres of a film, and a description of those genres (On the same row)
The other listbox has a range of films with different types of Genre.

What i am trying to do is, when i click an item in my first listbox, let's say 'Action' genre, the button 'View Films' is clicked, I want it to be able to process my second listbox, and filter all the films with the 'Action' Genre next to it, and to display all the films in that second listbox.

Can anybody help me?

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

Have you considered of using LINQ?

I'm not sure what LINQ is as i am new to programming in general

You could start here

I like using datatables and a rowfilter for this type of stuff.

Here is a simple example. I manually loaded the DataTables, but you would do this with your file contents. You could also do your text files as xml and load the table directly with the xml definition. Most of the code is just creating some data to play with.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace WindowsFormsApplication1
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private DataTable dtGenre = new DataTable();
        private DataTable dtMovies = new DataTable();

private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            DataRow r = default(DataRow);

// Build Movies Table

dtMovies.Columns.Add("Genre", typeof(string));
            // add whatever columns you need
            dtMovies.Columns.Add("Title", typeof(string));