Hello
I am new in Perl and CGI. I want to write a program in perl that enables me to call executables, some of them maybe GUI.
My starting point was to write a small program that would call an interface because this is on a local machine. Ultimately i want to send commands to execute applications from a client.
The program i wrote gives me this error
Can't spawn "cmd.exe": No such file or directory at C:/www/cgi-bin/compound.pl line 8. child exited with value 255. what do i do to make run all my applications?

The program is like <>

my $mouse = ("start /maximised /Program Files/DHI/MOUSE2002/Bin/Syrakus.exe");##"C:\Program Files\DHI\MOUSE 2002\Bin\Syrakus.exe" MOUSE2002_80
system $mouse ;
if ($? == -1) 
{ print "failed to execute: $!\n"; } 
elsif ($? & 127) 
{ printf "child died with signal %d, %s coredump\n", ($? & 127), ($? & 128) ? 'with' : 'without'; } 
else 
{ printf "child exited with value %d\n", $? >> 8; }

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

To run any system application with perl you use:

system()
backtiks: ` `
qx/ /
exec()

but exec exits the perl program. Whcih you use depends on what you are doing.

Am not sure that gives me the answer, it is like it either starts the application but nothing shows or because of the error it doesnt. I wanted to know how i can get the error solved and how i can run different applications remotely.
thanks

Hello
I am new in Perl and CGI. I want to write a program in perl that enables me to call executables, some of them maybe GUI.
My starting point was to write a small program that would call an interface because this is on a local machine. Ultimately i want to send commands to execute applications from a client.
The program i wrote gives me this error
Can't spawn "cmd.exe": No such file or directory at C:/www/cgi-bin/compound.pl line 8. child exited with value 255. what do i do to make run all my applications?

The program is like <>