Ok, literally my first day of learning Python. I am working my own way through Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner and am encountering my first glitch. I downloaded 3.3.1 and am just starting to play around.

When I run my program in the Python Shell it works as it is supposed to. But the book tells me to try saving these snippets occasionally and running them through the console window. When I do that the console closes after I type my name and hit enter, no "Hi etc etc"

name=input("What's your name?")
print(name)
print("Hi, ",name)
input("\n\nPress the enter key to exit.")

Am I doing something wrong or do I just not understand what I'm doing yet and this is perfectly normal?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

How are you starting the console?

I'm saving the code in the python shell, then double-clicking the saved file. The console pops up automatically and starts by asking for my name, but when I type it in and hit enter, the window closes.

That happens because the window is owned by the executing program. When the program ends, the window is destroyed. This is normal and expected behavior that doesn't happen when using the Python shell because the Python shell is owned at a higher level than the running program.

If you start the console separately, then navigate to your program and run it that way, the console window won't close because it's owned by its own process and not dependent on the Python program's process.

Alternatively, you can add a request for input at the end of your program to force the process from terminating until input is provided.

Alternatively, you can add a request for input at the end of your program to force the process from terminating until input is provided.

But he already did that:

input("\n\nPress the enter key to exit.")