hi, i'm new to c++(just 3 days) and new to this forum too (so pls go easy on me). my problem is i can't remember how to use the for, while and do loops. but when i see a program with these loops in them i completely understand the program but can't write one cuz i keep forgeting how it's done. is there any "method" or "trick" you guys use to remember them? and if it's just that i need more practice can you link me to a site that has a bunch of "worked" examples and exercises?
thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

A for() loop is best used when you know (either based on a variable's value, or a set number) how many times a loop should run. For example, if I wanted to have a message printed exactly 5 times, I would do this:

for(int x = 0; x < 5; x++)
    std::cout << "Hello, world!" << std::endl;

A [I]while()[/I] loop is often used when you don't know how many times a loop should run, or are dependant on a changing condition to determined when you should exit the loop. For example:

#include <iostream>

int main() {
    std::string input("");

while(input != "q") {
        std::cout << "\nEnter a message (\'q\' to quit):\n>>> ";
        std::getline(std::cin, input);
    }
}

A

do {
} while()

loop is used when you always want something to happen once, and then check a condition to see if it should happen again.

Hope what helped somewhat. :)

Well within three days you can not understand all of the three loops :P.

It will take some time, all you can do is practice more and more and try to understand the code of others. This will help you alot while understanding the programming.