i'm newbie ,i just started learning the basics of java. how much time-give or take- would it take to have working knowledge of java? how much ican learn on my own studying 4h a day?

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

It's impossible to say since study time to a working knowledge of programming varies greatly from person to person and "working knowledge" is such a nebulous term. Can you be more specific?

@OP
Welcome to the wonderful world of code, there is no set-time for when one learns a programming language. It's not like learning to cook popcorn, it takes alot of practice, studying, and hard work to learn. Even then, after years of experience one still doesn't know everything about a specific programming language. For example, if you speak English you may think you know everything about it, but open a dictionary and you're sure to encounter something you never even seen. With that in mind, I would personally suggest not starting with Java as a programming language. I would start with Python, it is simpler in syntax, powerful, multi-platform, general in terms of use, and within' a small amount of time you will build confidence with the programming fundamentals. Once you feel confident enough to go into a more "strict" language such as Java, go ahead and do so. Java, is a great language for one to go into after learning the basic logic and syntax shared by all programming languages. Now the next question is; how do you learn? are you a visual, auditory, or tactile learner? Do you like learning from videos, books, or by jumping right in, and doing trial and error? With that said, I suggest that you start by reading; Learn Python The Hardway by Zed A. Shaw. good luck =D
these are all suggestions of course
EDIT: why did I get downvoted for offering valid information?

I don't really get the down vote either!